Archdiocese of Lilongwe

Ordinary:       The Most Reverend Tarcizio Gervazio Ziyaye

The Most Reverend Tarcizio Gervazio Ziyaye, DP, was born on 19th May, 1949 at Khombe Village, Ludzi Parish, Mchinji District. He was ordained priest on 14th August, 1977. He was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of Dedza on 21st January, 1992 and consecrated on 23rd May, 1992 at Bembeke. On 29th May, 1993, he was appointed coadjutor Bishop of Lilongwe. On 29th November 1994, he was appointed Bishop of Lilongwe. He was appointed Archbishop of Blantyre on 15th February, 2001. On 5th July 2013, he was appointed Archbishop of Lilongwe and was installed on 21st September.

Historical Notes
The Vicariate of Nyasa was erected on 12th February 1897, including the whole of Malawi. The name Nyasa Vicariate was changed to Likuni on 12th July 1951 and finally it became Lilongwe on 20th June 1957. It was raised to the status of Diocese 25th April 1959. Lilongwe was created Metrpolitan Circumscription on 9th February 2011. The Archdiocese of Lilongwe covers seven districts of the Central Region of Malawi: – Dowa, Kasungu, Lilongwe, Mchinji, Nkhotakota, Ntchisi and Salima.

Area Sq. Kilometres  :           24,025
Population                  :           6,200,000
Catholics                    :           1,830,750

Patron: Our Lady of Africa

Feast Day 20th November.


Address:         Archbishop’s House
P.O. Box 33,

Phone:            01 754 674 (pvt)
Fax:                01 753 045


Rt. Rev. Joseph Dupont                                  M. Afr.            (1897 – 1911)
Rt. Rev. Mathurin Guilleme                           M. Afr.            (1911 – 1935)
Rt. Rev. Oscar Julien                                      M. Afr.            (1935 – 1951)
Rt. Rev. Joseph Fady                                      M. Afr.            (1951 – 1972)
Rt. Rev. Patrick Kalilombe                             M. Afr.            (1972 – 1979)
Rt. Rev. Matthias A. Chimole                                    DP                   (1979 – 1994)
Rt. Rev. Tarcizius G. Ziyaye                          DP                   (1994 – 2001)
Rt. Rev. Felix E. Mkhori                                DP                   (2001 – 2007)
Most Rev. Remi Ste-Marie                             M. Afr.            (2007 – 2013)


Carmelite Fathers
Comboni Missionaries of the Heart of Jesus
Community of St. Paul
Diocesan Priests
Franciscan Capuchin Friars
Franciscan Friars
Missionaries of Africa – Fathers
Missionaries of St. Paul
Salesians of Don Bosco – Fathers
Society of Jesus
St. Patrick’s Missionary Society

Marist Brothers
Franciscan Capuchin Friars

Canossian Sisters
Carmelite Sisters of Luxembourg
Carmelite Missionaries
Congregation of Mother of Carmel
Daughters of St. Paul (Pauline Sisters)
Franciscan Missionary Sisters of Assisi
Franciscan Sisters of Jesus and Mary
Little Servants of Mary Immaculate
Little Sister of the Assumption
Medical Missionaries of Mary
Missionaries of Charity Sisters
Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Conception
Missionary Sisters of Our Lady of Africa
Poor Clares
Servants of Blessed Virgin Mary Sisters
Sisters of Charity of Ottawa
Sisters of Daughters of Mary Immaculate
Sisters of Mary Mediatrix
Sisters of St. John the Baptist
Teresian Sisters

Catechists 102